For Such a Time…

Standard

When I was a pre-teen I completely looked up to two girls in my church. Their names were Michelle and Tracy and they were GORGEOUS!!! They were great actresses and wonderful singers. They were also older than me – enough so that I was too young to be in their social circle. Instead, Tracy was my babysitter occasionally.

I remember finding out that our parents were married within a year or so of each other. In my mind that meant that if my parents had begun their family right away instead of waiting 6 years, that I could have been the same age as Michelle and Tracy. I could have been their friend. Oh how I wished I was older.

I have also wished I was born in a different time period. My latest television fascination is the Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart. What a simpler time and life! What elegance and simple feminine strength.

A wonderful co-worker of mine used to lead Beth Moore Bible studies at work after hours. One that we completed together was on Esther. It gave me an entirely different view of her story as well as my own place in history. In Esther 4:14, Mordecai is trying to convince Esther that God has placed her in her position and in that exact place in time for a specific purpose – to save her family. Can you imagine having the fate of your entire family in your hands?!?! Wow!! What pressure! In the HCSB it reads “If you keep silent at this time, liberation and deliverance will come to the Jewish people from another place, but you and your father’s house will be destroyed. Who knows, perhaps you have come to your royal position for such a time as this.”

That verse hit me. God places us specifically in a time and place in history for His purpose. The fact that I was born a few years after Michelle and Tracy was for a purpose. The fact that I was not born in 1900s Canada was for a purpose. The fact that I am in Georgia in 2014 is for a purpose

I found great comfort in this idea. All the pain I have endured in my life or will endure in my life is for a purpose. I may not see it yet, but it is there. One day, on this side of eternity or the other, I will see it. I can’t wait!!

So, like Esther I will strive to stand strong, be brave, and watch for the purpose God has planned. And I will be happy with where He has placed me.

Leave a Reply

