Why me?

Standard

You had an angel chorus

And your own personal star

Announcing your arrival

To those watching near and far.

 

You had the wisdom of the ages

While you were just a child.

The wind and waves obeyed you

And even demons running wild.

 

So it makes no sense to me

Why you would look my way.

You offer me forgiveness

And eternal life one day.

 

I do not deserve your glory

And even less your grace.

My sinful ways shame me

When I look into Your face.

 

You offer me forgiveness

But I can’t understand

For my sins crucified you

Along with all of man.

 

Why do you pursue me?

Why do you desire my heart?

I can do nothing to repay you

And you knew that from the start.

 

Still you reach out your hand

And lead me back to you.

Thank you for your gift of love

Even when we are untrue.

Leave a Reply

